Bibliobus, a Malagasy Travelling Library

We talk a lot about the lack of means, the difficulty kids face when going to school and have a basic education. Then I saw this, a library mounted on a truck and I said to myself, that’s awesome!! We should have thousands like this!!

Bibliobus

Bibliobus

If kids can’t go to library, library will come to them. As you may notice Malagasy children like reading books. The library has been in my neighborhood for more than a month now, opened to everybody – but most of those who come in, seat and read are kids – from 8:30 in the morning till 4:00pm and it’s always crowded when I pass by, it’s not enough. We can find all sorts of books in there comics, novels, magazines, books for education well everything readable.

Kids queueing up to enter the Bibliobus

Kids queueing up to enter the Bibliobus